Impact of Global Warming!

Global warming not only involves an increase in temperature, it also leads to a host of other environmental problems. You sure you want to stay complacent about it?

The impact of global warming is slowly emerging, such include the rise in sea-level, the occurrence of extreme weather events, as well as changes to ecological systems.

Temperature increase, along with sea-ice melting, have lead to substantial sea-level rise since the year 1880. Consequently, many low lying areas may become submerged under water, causing residents to lose their homes.  In the Mediterranean areas, many of the world heritage sites as designated by UNESCO, such as Venice and the Italian city of Pisa, now faces the risk of damage due to sea-level rise.

Global Warming will also increase the frequency and intensity of extreme weather events. Over the past year, extreme weather events have occured in various parts of the world. Extreme weather events can leads to flight cancellation, suspension of work and education, infrastructural damage, economic losses and even injuries and deaths.

Changes in climate and the environment not only affect human, it also disturbs the biological cycles of species, hence, will affect ecological systems and the entire food chain. According to a research published on the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, 88 species are impacted by Phenological Synchrony. As a result of increasing temperature, 99% of newborn green sea turtles in Australia are now a female. A report from IPCC has stated that if the global average temperature is increased for 2℃, all of the world's coral will go into extinction.

Average global temperature in the first half of 2020 is the second highest recorded 

According to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), the average global temperature from January to June this year is 1.07℃ above the average of the last century. Such is the second highest since record begins in 1880, second only to the 2016 record (1.12℃ above average of the last century). In the first half of this year, abnormally high temperature has mainly occured in Northern, Middle and Eastern Europe, as well as in Northern Asia.

Unusual heatwaves hit the Arctic in the first half of this year

The Copernicus Climate Change Services - an European climate monitoring organization, found that the May average temperature in Siberia is 10℃ higher than the regular monthly average. The northeast of the region was hit by heatwaves.


In June, the average temperature in Siberia is still 5℃above average level. In June 20th, a small town called Verkhoyansk recorded a temperature of 38℃. If such record is validated by the World Meteorological Organization, it will become the highest temperature ever recorded in the Arctic Circle.

As climate change batters the UK, local farmers face under-harvest

The Met Office predicted that "very hot temperature" of 40℃or above will appear in the UK once in 3 to 4 years towards the end of this century, base on a high carbon emission scenario. 38.7℃is the current highest temperature in UK, recorded in the city of Cambridge in July 2019.

This year, UK experienced the most humid February ever recorded. Multiple storms have caused widespread flooding. Such is followed by the sunniest March, April and May ever recorded, where some regions have even experienced small heat waves. Extreme weathers have impacted heavily on local agriculture. The National Farmer's Union predicted a 30% decrease in local wheat harvest this year, which would be  the lowest record since 1980.

Antarctica surrenders to climate change

as it warms by 0.6℃ every decade

Antarctica was once believed to be unaffected by global warming. However, scientists have found that the region is warming by 0.6℃per decade, which is 3 times the average warming speed of the rest of the world. This February, a research station in the Antarctic Peninsula recorded a temperature of 18.3℃- the highest ever recorded in the region.

Currently, West Antarctica is experiencing severe sea-ice melting. The West Antarctic Ice Sheet is melting rapidly, which may leads to drastic sea level rise, as well as affecting global atmospheric and ocean circulation.

Looking back at the hottest summer ever recorded in Hong Kong

This year, Hong Kong has experienced its hottest summer ever recorded. Average temperature for this year's June, July and August is 29.6℃ - the highest ever recorded since 1884. 3 new hot weather records are marked in July: including the 'highest number of very hot days in a month' (20 days), 'highest number of hot nights in a month' (21 nights), and the 'longest consecutive record of the Very Hot Weather Warning' (467 hours).

 

A night with temperature above 28℃ is termed 'hot night'. A research from the Chinese University of Hong Kong has found that a single hot night will increase the risk of fatality by 2.43. When 5 consecutive hot nights occurs, the risk of fatality will increase by 6.66%.

Climate change has caused this year’s

apocalyptic wildfire in the west coast

This year, the US west coast has experienced the most severe wildfire since 2003. Scientists suggested that climate change has caused this year’s abnormally hot, dry and windy condition in the west coast - which all becomes the catalyst for an “extreme wildfire”. The temperature in the west coast has been rising for 0.11°C every 10 years on average, alongside an increase in its Drought Index. Accumulated warming, plus the drought occurred this summer, have dried out a lot of the forest in the west coast. When a wildfire occurs, the dried wood becomes an easily flammable source of fuel.

©2020 環保觸覺    電話:8100 4877   電郵:lessaircon@greensense.org.hk   郵箱:長沙灣郵政信箱80710號

​請即follow :

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

全球暖化影響全球!

全球暖化不單止令天氣變熱,還會衍生出各種問題,你真的要坐視不理嗎?

全球暖化的影響已陸續浮現,例如海平面上升、極端天氣頻生和生態系統的改變。

氣温上升,冰雪融化,令全球海平面比1880年大幅上升,引致多個低窪地區面臨被淹沒,居民失去安居之所。而地中海地區多個獲聯合國教科文組織封為世界遺產的地方如威尼斯、比薩斜塔等地方都受水面上升的威脅,可能造成文化損失。

全球暖化還會增加極端天氣的頻率和破壞力。過去一年,全球各地經歷多次極端天氣。極端天氣會導致航班取消、停工停課、建築物受損,造成嚴重經濟損失,甚至人命傷亡。

除了人類受到影響,天氣環境的轉變會擾亂生物周期性現象,從而影響生態,進一步影響整個食物鏈。刊於《美國國家科學院期刊》的研究發現,全球88物種被「物候同步」影響,例如澳洲99%新生綠龜因高溫誕生為雌性。IPCC報告明確斷言,如果升溫2℃,全世界的珊瑚將百分之百消失絶種。

2020上半年全球平均溫度為有紀錄以來第二高

根據美國國家海洋及大氣管理局 (NOAA)的資料顯示,2022年1至6月的全球平均溫度比起上世紀的同時期平均溫度高出1.07度,是自1880年有紀錄以來第二高,僅次於2016年的記錄(高出1.12度)。而歐洲的北部、中部、東部、以及北亞地區,於上半年度分別出現了異常高溫。

北極圈於上半年經歷了不尋常的熱浪

歐洲氣象監測組織Copernicus Climate Change Services指出,西伯利亞地區5月的平均溫度比平常高出10度,而其東北面更受到了熱浪(Heatwave)的來襲。

 

到了六月,西伯利亞的平均溫度仍比平常高出5度,其中小鎮維科揚斯克 (Verkhoyansk) 於6月20日更錄得38度高溫。若紀錄被世界氣象組織核實,這將是北極圈錄得的歷來最高溫。

氣候變化席捲英國 農作物恐嚴重失收

英國氣象局 (Met Office) 於今年6月發表報告指,在高碳排放量假設下,英國在本世紀末每3至4年便會出現40度高溫。英國劍橋於2019年7月曾錄得38.7度,是當地有紀錄以來最高溫度。

本年初,英國經歷了有紀錄以來最潮濕的二月,多個風暴導致了廣泛的水浸。緊隨的,是有紀錄以來最陽光普照的三至五月,某些地區更經歷了小型熱浪。極端天氣來襲,首當其衝是當地的農業。英國的全國農民聯盟 (National Farmers' Union)預計,本年的當地小麥產量將比平常下跌30%,是自1980年代最少。

極地也淪陷:南極每10年上升0.6℃

南極曾被認為是少數倖免於全球暖化的地帶。但科學家早前發現,南極正以每10年上升0.6℃的速度暖化,是全球平均暖化速度的3倍。而於南極半島的研究站更於本年二月錄得18.3℃的歷史高溫。

 

現時南極西面的融冰情況十分嚴重,西南極冰蓋(West Antarctic Ice Sheet)正迅速融化。這將引致大幅度的海平面上升,更會影響全球的氣候及海流。

回顧香港有紀錄以來最熱的夏天

剛過去的6至8月,本港經歷了有紀錄以來最炎熱的夏天!這3個月的平均氣溫達29.6℃,是自1884年有紀錄以來最高。其中7月更創下三個新的酷熱天氣紀錄:分別是單月最多酷熱日數(20日)、單月最多熱夜日數(21日)、及酷熱天氣警告最長連續生效時間(467小時)。


當夜晚的溫度高於28℃,便稱作熱夜。香港中文大學研究指出,出現一個熱夜會增加2.43%死亡風險,當連續出現5個熱夜,風險更會增至6.66%。

美國西岸世紀火災,氣候變化恐是幫兇

美國西岸今年的火災是自2003年以來最嚴重。科學家指,氣候變化使西岸於今年夏天異常的炎熱、乾燥和大風。這都是一場「極端火災」的催化劑。西岸自1895年起平均每10年升溫0.11°C,其乾旱指數亦不斷提升。多年來的暖化,加上今年夏天的旱災,使西岸不少森林面臨乾旱。當大火來襲,喪失水份的木材便成為合適燃料。

©2020 環保觸覺    電話:8100 4877   電郵:lessaircon@greensense.org.hk   郵箱:長沙灣郵政信箱80710號

​請即follow :

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon