Actions to Fight Global Warming

Changes begin from a tiny action. Do it now!

Hong Kong is already experiencing the heat of summer even though summer is just halfway through! The highest temperature ever recorded in Hong Kong since records began in 1884 was 36.1 degrees on July 24 2022[1], according to the Hong Kong Observatory, and the temperature on the day of Sheung Shui was close to 39 degrees. Not only Hong Kong, the extreme heat wave also covered the world: the United Kingdom recorded a record high temperature of over 40 degrees in mid-July [2], and the British Meteorological Office issued a red alert for the first time in its history; France, Spain, Portugal and many other European countries also recorded the same high temperature, and at least 1,700 people died due to high temperatures in Spain and Portugal alone. [3]

To combat climate change, nearly 200 countries have signed the "Paris Climate Agreement" in 2015. By signing the agreement, these countries will attempt to control temperature increase within the 21st century to well below 2℃, and to further pursue to control such increase below 1.5℃. However, according to the most recent study from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) in 2022, global warming might increase by 3.2°C in 2100, and in the worst case, even up to 5.7°C.

 

We do not have much time left to control temperature increase to below 1.5℃, in order to mitigate the associated climate change impact. We have no time to lose.

Picture1.jpg

Pakistan community reforestation team

plans to plant 10 billion trees in the next 5 years

A formidable reforestation team has formed in Pakistan. It is now actively participating in the national government’s reforestation program, aiming to plant 10 billion trees in the next 5 years. This reforestation team is not a formal organization, it relies on citizens across the country to plant trees in their communities. The Pakistan government accounted for its resource limitation and attempts to utilize the power of the community to reforest. Such is an inspirational move. Governments around the world, considering their resource limitation, should rethink how they could collaborate with the local community in combating climate change.

Reference:

1. HKO. (2022). Highest temperature records were broken in July.https://bit.ly/3vwqbDW

2. Press Office. (2022). Record breaking temperatures for the UK.Met Office. https://www.metoffice.gov.uk/about-us/press-office/news/weather-and-climate/2022/red-extreme-heat-warning-ud.

3. Central News Agency. (2022). Heat wave attack in Europe, WHO: Heat-related deaths reaching more than 1,700 in Spain and Portugal. Udn.com. https://udn.com/news/story/120923/6483004.

全球暖化全球行動!

​改變始於一個微小的行動,現在就去做吧!

今年夏天才過了一半,本港便經歷了炎炎夏天!香港天文台於今年7月24日錄得攝氏36.1度高溫[1],繼續打破香港自1884年有記錄以來的最高溫度,上水當日錄得溫度更迫近39​度。不只是香港,極端熱浪更橫蓋全球各地:英國於7月中錄得逾40度的歷史高溫,英國氣象局更為此史上第一次發上紅色預警[2];法國、西班牙、葡萄牙等多個歐洲國家亦錄得同樣高溫,而單單在西班牙和葡萄牙最少有1700人因高溫而死亡[3]。

為應對氣候變化,近200個政府在2015年簽署《巴黎氣候協定》,逐步淘汰化石燃料,並將溫度升幅限制於2℃,同時竭力將升幅抑壓於1.5℃。但聯合國政府間氣候變化專門委員會(IPCC)於2022年發布的最新報告中預料, 2100年全球暖化水平或可能上升3.2°C,而最壞情境就是甚至高達5.7°C。

我們只剩下不多的時間,竭力將温度升幅遏制在1.5℃以下,以化解危機,否則就太晚了!

Picture1.jpg

巴基斯坦社區植樹隊 未來5年計劃種植100億棵樹

巴基斯坦出現了一支強勁的民間植樹隊,正努力配合政府植樹政策,計劃在未來5年種植100億棵樹。其實這植樹隊並非「正規隊伍」、而是靠國內居民「各自努力」,在不同社區植樹。巴基斯坦政府考慮到國家的資源有限,因而嘗試運用民間力量去進行植樹和綠化,是具啓發性的做法。值得思考的是,各國政府應如何在各自有限的資源下,與民間進行合作,共同應對氣候變化?

參考資料:

1. 香港天文台(2022)。七月高溫刷新多項紀錄。取自:https://bit.ly/3vwqbDW

2. 英國氣象局。(2022)。《英國氣溫破紀錄》。取自:https://www.metoffice.gov.uk/about-us/press-office/news/weather-and-climate/2022/red-extreme-heat-warning-ud.

3. 聯合新聞網。(2022)。《歐洲熱浪侵襲 世衛:西班牙、葡萄牙逾1700人被熱死》。取自:https://udn.com/news/story/120923/6483004